Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

March 16, 2023 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday March 16, 2023 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Jennifer Zahradnik, County, Jon Kaestner, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Bill Voss, Walford, Nancy Jensen, County, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Dave Fish, Belle Plaine and Loras Schulte, Norway.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:30 PM.

Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Jensen to approve the February 16, 2023 minutes. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Fish to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included upcoming trainings, spring sampling done, tire pile picked up and waiting on the pre-construction meeting. Motion made by Voss, seconded by Seeman to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG written report was distributed before the meeting. Motion made by Fish, seconded by Kaestner to approve the ECICOG report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Kearns to approve Resolution 2023-03-01: Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Kaestner, seconded by Jensen to approve Resolution 2023-03-02: Approval of Transfer of Funds between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Fish to approve Resolution 2023-03-03: Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Vogeler to approve a credit application for Morrow Properties LLC. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Voss to approve raising the property values for insurance. All Ayes.

Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Fish to approve Terracon for the MW19 well abandonment and new well construction. All Ayes.

Motion made by Fish, seconded by Vogeler to approve the Capital Account Update. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Seeman, seconded by Voss. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 7:05 PM.

Chairperson